Cash Unclaimed Money Search
Virginia unclaimed money
In accordance with the Uniform Disposition of Unclaimed Property Act, Title 55, and Chapter 11.1 Sections 55-210.1 - 55-210.30 of the Code of Virginia, property becomes unclaimed when the holder has not had contact with the owner of the property for a specified period of time. After the passage of the dormancy period, if there has been no activity generated by the owner, the property is then considered abandoned. The Virginia State Treasurer's Office, Division of Unclaimed Property has the custody is the custodian of Virginia unclaimed property. The division is required (Section 55-210.13) to publish the owner's names in the newspaper annually. Additional efforts are made by the investigative section of the Unclaimed Property Division to locate the rightful owner or heir. The legislature has, since 1981, reduced the holding periods for unclaimed property: from 17 to 5 years for banks and financial institutions, and 7 to 1 year(s) for courts, state and local Government Issue checks, etcetera is no time limit on claiming your money from the state.
The holder is required to exercise due diligence prior to the submission of the unclaimed property report when the property has a value of $100 or more. This means that they must mail a first-class mailing to the owner's last known address informing them of the dormant status of the property (Section 55-210.12(e)). The division is required (Section 55-210.13) to publish the owner's names in the newspaper annually. Please try using various combinations of your name in order to search for unclaimed money. Also bear in mind that there may be assets in your maiden name. Each year billions of dollars in dormant or lost accounts go without ever being found when governments, companies and banks lose track of the true owner of the money. This could be due to a host of reasons like marriage break up, misspelled names, businesses going bankrupt, banks getting dissolved, unexpected migration or relocation of jobs, address changes without prior notification, death, post office errors etc. If you know anyone who has ever moved or died, the state of Virginia is probably holding unclaimed funds in their name.
There is an alphabetical list of people whose last known address was in Virginia and who are due to receive money for unclaimed property for the number of years prescribed by statute. The Unclaimed divisions have held the accounts for more than 2 years. Even if your name is not on the list, you may wish to call the Unclaimed Property Division to check if any funds are being held in your name. It is important to note that accounts held less than 2 years are not available for public inspection.
Virginia unclaimed property or money could be in the form of funds from a dormant checking and savings accounts, un-cashed money orders, cashiers checks, mineral royalty payments, safe deposit box contents, unused gift certificates, unclaimed insurance benefits, lost cash dividends, stock, found utility deposits, unclaimed security deposits, and court deposits. Virginia unclaimed property, which was held by another state or a company, is kept in protective custody if they could not be paid to the rightful owner. The owners last recorded state address is always taken into consideration with reference to Virginia's unclaimed money.
Make sure you check with every state in which you have ever lived (unclaimed property is generally turned over to the state of your last address as reflected in the records of the business holding your found money, stock, etc.).
Do not assume that the business has your last known address. If the business holding your property doesn't have a valid address for you, the property is supposed to be sent to the state where the business was incorporated. Many large corporations are from: Delaware, New Jersey, New York, Virginia, California or other areas.
If your name does not appear in our search, you may call or write the Virginia state office for a complete Virginia unclaimed money name search.
State Found Funds Links:
Alabama| Alaska| Arizona| Arkansas| California| Colorado| Connecticut| Delaware| Washington DC| Florida| Georgia| Hawaii| Idaho| Illinois| Indiana| Iowa| Kansas| Kentucky| Louisiana| Maine| Maryland| Massachusetts| Michigan| Minnesota| Mississippi| Missouri| Montana| Nebraska| Nevada| New Hampshire| New Jersey| New Mexico| New York| North Carolina| North Dakota| Ohio| Oklahoma| Oregon| Pennsylvania| Rhode Island| South Carolina| South Dakota| Tennessee| Texas| Utah| Vermont| Virginia| Washington| West Virginia| Wisconsin| Wyoming